Keeping on top of your vehicle registration is very important. Here are some of the most important things you need to know regarding vehicle registration services.
Where Can I Go For MVD Vehicle Registration Services?
The best news about your vehicle registration is that you no longer are bound to the local MVD. You can skip the long lines and limited hours of the MVD and choose 1 Stop Title Loans to service your vehicle registration needs.
Our locations that handle MVD vehicle registration services can help you in the following ways:
Vehicle Registration renewals
Change of address
Trailers, vehicles, and motorcycles
Disability permits and plates
Temporary permits for 3-day, 30-day, and 90 day
Change In Proof Of Vehicle Registration
Beginning January 2020 the MVD or any authorized third party office (such as 1 Stop Title Loans) will no longer print any registration documents. Anything that you need to be printed (documentation, license plate tabs, etc) will be mailed to you. Keep in mind that your record will be instantly updated and you will have a receipt for proof of vehicle registration.
An annual public safety fee will be discontinued. How it works is that fees will be collected prior to July 1, 2021, in accordance with Arizona Revised Statute 28-2007. If you register your vehicle for two or five years, you will not be charged for the years starting in July 2021 or later. The fee will be applied for a full year of registration. This fee cannot be prorated. Once the fee is paid, it is nonrefundable.
Can I Renew My Vehicle Registration Early?
It is possible to renew your vehicle registration early, however it does depend on your emissions test. If your vehicle does not require an emissions test, you can renew up to 6 months before the expiration date of your renewal. If your vehicle does require an emission test, you can opt to renew your registration up to 3 months ahead of time.
What Are The Late Fees?
It is important to avoid late fees with regard to your vehicle registration renewal. You can avoid a penalty by renewing the vehicle registration online or over the phone before the due date of the registration. If you choose to renew by mail the postmark must reflect the due date of your vehicle registration or earlier. The late fee is an initial amount of $8, plus an additional $4 for each month you neglect to renew the registration.
Should your vehicle fail any initial or subsequent emissions test, you will avoid the penalty, so long as the original test was done before the expiration of the registration. The registration renewal must also be completed within 30 days of the original test to avoid the penalty.
You are completely responsible for the renewal of your vehicle registration. A reminder will be mailed or emailed to you one month prior to the expiration date. Even if you fail to receive this notification, you are responsible to pay the registration on time.
Should you pay by check, a $25 fee will be charged if a check is returned by a financial institution. It may also result in the suspension of your vehicle registration and driving privileges.
How Do I Apply For A Registration Of A Vehicle When I Lack Complete Documentation?
If you are an Arizona resident that has incomplete documentation for issuance of a title or registration, you may apply for 90-day vehicle registration. With this type of registration, you can still operate the vehicle as you proceed to obtain the additional documentation. An additional fee will be assessed. Once the final documentation for the title and registration is completed, the vehicle license taxes will be calculated for a full year and backdated to the first day of the 90-day registration.
How Do I Register A Trailer?
You can register a trailer and the determining factor will be whether it is used for commercial purposes and on the weight of the trailer. Trailers are allowed for a one, two, five year or permanent registration.
If you are interested in a permanent registration for your trailer, it must meet the following criteria:
Noncommercial trailer declared gross weight of 10,000 lbs or less.
Trailer with a declared weight of more than 10,000lbs previously registered in another state and the model year is less than six years old
Should your trailer meet these requirements, a permanent registration can be granted. You will pay a one-time fee and receive a PERM license plate tab. There will be no further billing for license tax or registration fees.
Trailers that are not eligible for a permanent registration include travel trailers, camper trailers, commercial trailers with a declared weight of 10,000lbs or less and historic trailers designed for commercial use.
General Manager at 1 Stop Title Loans and Motor Vehicle Services. With over 8 years at a management level in the financial industry and 3 years in the 3rd Party MVD industry, I have learned many helpful insights I'd like to share.