Arizona law requires that when you buy a vehicle, you must apply for a vehicle title in Arizona within the first 15 days of purchase. You can take your application for Vehicle titles in Arizona to a 1 Stop Title Loans location to complete the process. This means you get to skip those long lines at the MVD and come in at your convenience. If you wait longer than 15 days, a vehicle title in Arizona transfer penalty may be assessed.
How do I transfer a vehicle title and registration?
A Level I vehicle inspection, if the out-of-state title and/or registration is missing
An out-of-state title (or registration, if the title is held by lienholder)
Out-of-state license plates
A lien clearance, if applicable
Power of Attorney from the lessor (original or certified copy), if the leased vehicle
Payment of all applicable title and registration fees
At the time of the application for your new Arizona title and registration, your out-of-state title and registration will be surrendered.
There are some issues that may take place if you happen to have an out-of-state lien holder. According to the Arizona MVD services page:
“If your out-of-state title has a lien on it from an out-of-state lienholder and the out-of-state lienholder is not contracted with an electronic lien and title service provider in Arizona, you will maintain your out-of-state title and receive an Arizona Registration Only until the lien has been paid and a lien clearance is provided.”
Typically when you register your out-of-state vehicles, a physical inspection is not necessary. You must, however, have proof of ownership, such as title, registration or both. Should a physical inspection be warranted, the make VIN (Vehicle Identification Number), body style and other information will be verified at 1 Stop Title Loans prior to registration. Upon inspection, if there are any safety or mechanical flaws, the registration can be denied.
The Possible Penalties
A lien is only satisfied once the lienholder or lender receives full payment of the loan. The following is considered a lien met in full satisfaction:
Good funds received
Wire transfer complete
Funds debited from the account
A penalty can be assessed to a lienholder who does not surrender a certificate of title upon this full satisfaction of the lien and the request of the legal vehicle owner. It is possible for penalties to amount from $50 to $500 per title.
How do I get a replacement title?
It is possible to lose a title or have one that is damaged or illegible. You are able to apply for a duplicate title. All of the information listed on the title must stay the same. The only change that can be made at the time of applying for a duplicate is the address and/or vehicle location address may be changed. The damaged title must be surrendered at the time of application.
All of these services can be done at 1 Stop Title Loans!
1 Stop Title Loans is committed to serving the Phoenix valley as a leader in third-party MVD services and vehicle titles in Arizona. Title transfers, duplicate titles, issuing salvage titles and more can be done at our locations. The best part is that these services can be done without waiting in long lines at the MVD. We also have extended hours. Stop by one of our many locations to get the best service in the valley.